The Edith Nesbit Reading Room

About Edith Nesbit

Edith Nesbit was born in 1858 Kennington, Surrey, London. She (Using the name E. Nesbit as an author) published approximately 40 books for children, including novels, collections of stories and picture books.

Nesbit was the first modern writer for children and helped to reverse the great tradition of children’s literature inaugurated by other great writers such as Lewis Carroll, George MacDonald and Kenneth Grahame.

Among Nesbit’s best-known books are The Story of the Treasure Seekers (1898), The Wouldbegoods (1899), The Railway Children which was adapted into a 1970 film version.

Current Works

The Book of Beasts

Read The Book of Beasts 

Text this page link to your friends!